The Australian government has given approval for foreign nationals departing NZ to transit Australia to return home. Foreign nationals who have been in China, Iran, the Republic of Korea or Italy in the last 14 days will not be permitted transit via Australia.

All transits must occur on the same day as arrival and passengers will be required to remain airside in the airport.

These arrangements will be in place for 72 hours beginning 1200, from 21 March 2020 AEDST.

At the conclusion of this period any transit requests will need to be considered through the Commissioners’ exemption process. This will enable European travellers currently in NZ to transit Australian airports en-route back to Europe.

Please see Australian Border Control Update.

Everyone travelling in New Zealand should consider returning home as soon as they’re able to. 

Before you head home, you should: 

  • Contact your Embassy
  • Check your home country’s border restrictions
    • you may be required to self-isolate when you get home, so it’s best to check it out now. Embassies will be able to help you with that.
  • Check any stopover country border restrictions
    • you may find that you are not allowed to transit via certain countries. Embassies will be able to help you with that.
  • Contact a travel agent to talk about your travel requirements
    • Even if you didn’t book your travel through a travel agent, they will be able to let you know what is happening with your flight, or how to book a flight.
  • Check your flights
    • Use airline and airport websites to check your flight. Airline schedules have been disrupted so check that your flight is going ahead as scheduled.
  • Book a flight before turning up to an airport
    • Airline staff at airports are very busy trying to assist travellers, make sure you book your flight before you turn up to the airport. Do not turn up at the airport more than 3 hours prior to departure.